Home Forums Who’s Who! Cerlyn

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Cerlyn

Greetings

Allow me to introduce myself to this intrepid band of adventurers.

I have weathered 53 years of toil and struggle in this world 🙂

My main role in life is as a Senior Manager for HSBC providing finance for Commercial & Residential Investment & Development deals.

My alter ego “Cerlyn” is a paladin of many years standing. I started playing D&D in 1974 when the white boxed set first came out (yes I still have it) and over the next 20 years I played and DMed at many events. I even had the pleasure of playing a 1 on 1 with Gary Gygax at Reading.

In 1993 at Camber Sands I picked up a new card game called Magic the Gathering and for the next 10 years I organised or referred some of the biggest events in the UK and Europe, including judging at the World Championships in Seattle.

In 2003 I remarried, most of the original MTG players had moved on and it was not easy for me to play as there were no clubs in the area. I had already started playing Everquest so spent more time relaxing by playing MMO. I never tried DDO as the initial concepts and the chosen world did not impress me, (Greyhawk player through and through). I dabbled a bit last year when I found out Colin was playing here and then I took the plunge and bought a 15 month VIP membership for the price of 12!
    I have raided in EQ & WoW so know my way around groups etc, but I find that with only a couple of hours here and there to play I mainly solo, and the hirelings are a great help here.

My intention is to level Cerlyn to Paladin 18/Fighter 2, then I need to understand how to TR and into what – Cleric? Ranger?. At heart I prefer to be a fighter or healer. I will never be a warforged or an artificer a I don’t like them, neither will I be a sorcerer as again I don’t like the class or race options that go with it.

Looking forward to meeting up with you all and hopefully having some good time together.